The paranormal and its dark side has always been fascinating to me. I don’t know wether to blame my interest in it on my love for horror movies, or perhaps my love for horror movies is where it all started. Either way, I’m no expert on these things but these are some of the books I found and still find really helpful as I began to explore the vast world of the Paranormal, Demonology and all the myths that surround them.

First up, I’d recommend anything by Rosemary Ellen Guiley. She is a brilliant author and has collated many, many books on many different topics. These are a few I highly recommend for beginners. Any of her encyclopaedias, they are brilliant and absolutely full of information. It’s a great starting point and helped figure out exactly what I was interested in exploring further. You can easily find them on amazon by searching her name and the following titles:

  • The Encyclopedia of Demons & Demonology
  • The Encyclopedia of Ghosts and Spirits
  • The Encyclopedia of Vampires, Werewolves and Other Monsters
  • Harper’s Encyclopedia of Mystical & Paranormal Experiences
  • Also Harpers Guide to the Dark Side of the Paranormal is a great book by Guiley.

Guiley has many, many more than those I have listed, but these are the ones I own and absolutely love. They are honestly brilliant and you can get them for a decent price if you use the ‘new & used’ tab on Amazon. Plus the first Encyclopaedias are huge and full of information. I was very glad I purchased them and intend to purchase ever more.

Some other books I highly recommend for beginners are:

  • Geotia Of Shadows by Michael W. Ford – A brilliant book for those wanting to study demonology in a little more in-depth but are still just beginning. It contains some brilliant illustrations and will teach you a lot. It talks about many fascinating things without overloading you with to much information.
  • The Lesser Key of Solomon by S. L. MacGregor Mathers & Aleister Crowley – The same subject as the first and just as good. Brilliant for information. A reprint of 1904 publication!

  • Any of Ed and Lorraine Warrens books. You can find them via ‘Ed Warren’ as an author on Amazon. They are all very interesting and tell you about the different cases Ed and Lorraine went on. Great interesting reads that have a story element to them that makes them perfect for those who are just starting out.
  • Devils, Demons, and Witchcraft by Ernest and Johanna Lehner – Great book for beginners, lots of interesting pieces of information and some really good, interesting images.

  • The Dictionary of Demons: Names of the Damned by Michelle Belanger – If you find yourself particularly interested in all the different demons out there, this is a great place to start.

  • The Demon Tarot by Ariana Osborne – Great book to start with when it comes to Tarot Cards. This is a reinterpreted text of a classic so it’s a much easier read for beginners. The subject that doesn’t interest me much, but I’ve been assured its a good read.
  • Curses, Hexes & Crossing: A Magician’s Guide to Execration Magick by S. Connolly – Again a subject that doesn’t interest me to much but any kind of guides like this are great for beginners. They tend to cover most subjects within their area and give you great bits of information. I wouldn’t recommend actually trying any of it though (not that I’m a believer) but thats up to you. Again, I’ve been told it’s just an interesting and easy book to read on this subject.

  • Shadows of the Dark by John Zaffis – Great book about his research and investigations into the paranormal. He’s also the nephew of Ed and Lorraine Warren so I’d recommend this if you are also interested in them.

These are all I can think of for now. I also can’t stress enough how much I recommend Rosemary Ellen Guiley’s books if you are beginning, I found them absolutely brilliant. If you have any other recommendations then please comment them below.

